Indian Engineering Services exams are considered to be one of the toughest exams to beat and it takes an iron mindset to overcome the hurdles as such. But at the end of the day, what all matters are that how much you are prepared? It takes a vision and consistent perseverance to hit the jackpot of Indian Engineering Services. The exam itself held in various stages and comes with a proper schedule which is vast and tricky. But the most important point to understand here is that the best preparation comes with the right understanding of the basics of Indian Engineering Services exam and its various stages.

As before any such exam, students generally prepare by simply reading the syllabus and hundreds of books and most of the aspiring students generally scratch their hands for what went wrong and what was left there in their preparation. So, we will try to explore and unveil the entire of stages of the Indian Engineering Services exam and try to understand the entire schedule and plan of the exam.

Before any exam, it is important to understand the basic eligibility for qualifying to undertake it and so do we will explore the eligibility to undertake the Indian Engineering Services exam.

To check the eligibility to undertake the Indian Engineering Services exam, here is the checklist below:


Age Limit

An aspiring candidate has to be 21-30 years of age on the 1st August of the year of undertaking the exam.

There are exceptions for the limit relaxation for certain candidates which fall under certain categories:

  • An age limits relaxation of three years for OBC candidates.
  • Three years limit relaxation for Defence services personnel who acquired disability in operations during any kind of hostilities with any foreign country or in any area with disturbance and chaos.
  • Age limits relaxation of maximum five years for schedules caste and scheduled tribe candidate.


  • Age limit relaxation of maximum 5 years for the aspiring candidates who had been ordinarily domiciled in Jammu and Kashmir from 1st January 1980 to 31st December 1989.
  • Age limit relaxation of maximum 10 years for the physically disabled candidates in cases if the aspiring candidate is blind, deaf, mute and orthopedically disabled.
  • Age limit relaxation of maximum 5 years for the ex-servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have at least provided the services of five years of Military services and have been discharged from the services in case of the following reasons:
  1. Upon the assignment is completed.
  2. Upon invalidment.
  3. In case of any physical disability ascribed to Military services.
  • A relaxation of maximum 5 years in case of ECOs/SSCOs who have who have finished the initial assignment of 5 years in Military Services or in some particular cases if the Ministry of Defence has issued a certificate which allows them to apply for any civil employment and they will be released from their services on the three months notice on the receipt of selection and appointment of the job offer.



In case of nationalities, an aspiring candidate has to be one of the following mentioned below:

  • Candidate should be the citizen of India.
  • Candidate can be the citizen of Nepal and Bhutan.
  • Any person who hails from the Indian origin and has migrated from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Kenya , Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with a purpose of his/her permanent settlement in India.

Educational Qualifications

  • An aspiring candidate must hold a bachelors degree in Engineering from an approved/recognized institution or equivalent i.e. B.E/B.Tech.
  • A degree in M.Sc or equivalent to Wireless Communications, Radio Physics or Radio Engineering, Electronics etc. as special subjects which are acceptable for some particular services and posts.

IES Examination

Before understanding the various stages and plan of examination, an aspiring candidate is required to fulfil his/her application online only. The website is www.upsconline.nic.in. The general category applicant is required to pay an application fee of INR 200 but there is no application fee applies for female or reserved category candidate.

The exam consists of both objective and conventional papers and the entire exam consists of five papers. The first paper is the General Ability which is a part of assessment system whereas other four papers are from the engineering subject of the candidate. The technical and engineering subjects of the candidate are divided into four papers and the candidate is abided with a penalty for each wrong answer marked by him/her in the objective type question paper. The entire written examination is scheduled for three days which is comprised of all five papers.

Different Stages of the Examination

The entire examination is conducted in four stages. The various stages of examination are explained below:

First stage of exam: The first stage of exam is individually dedicated for objective type General Ability paper and it includes General English and General Studies. It is the only exam which is held on the first day. The exam lasts for 2 hours and the entire paper is for 200 marks.

Second stage of exam: The second stage of exam is held on the second day of the schedule and it is dedicated to 2nd and 3rd technical papers which are again objective type and each exam lasts for 2 hours and 200 marks each. The subjects can be noted as Civil Engineering/Mechanical Engineering/Electrical Engineering/Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering.

Third stage of exam: The third stage of the exam is held on the third day of the schedule and it is dedicated to 4th and 5th technical papers which are conventional type. Each paper has one subjective exam and lasts for duration of 3 hours each. Each paper is set for a maximum of 200 marks.

The criteria for evaluation of conventional answer sheets are entirely dependent upon a successful qualification in objective examination.

Fourth stage of exam: The fourth and the final stage of the exam is interview. The candidates who are successfully qualified in written examinations are then called for the interview which is again stands for 200 marks. Generally interview is also known as “Personality test” and the interview is purely held for a purpose of judging the mental potential of a qualified candidate. The assessment is based upon a candidate’s intellect, interests is current affairs and his/her social elements.

Upon a successful completion of all four stages, a candidate is selected for Indian Engineering Services of the Government of India. These candidates then proceed for their training for their provided cadres which will finally allocate them to their particular area of services.

This article has 1 comment

  1. Ashwin Reply

    Thanks for sharing the Indian Services Exams Eligibility! Now-a-days most of the students are applying for Government Exams. By reading UPSC exam blog posts and tips on exam, they prepare well for exams before facing exams. Keep on sharing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

89 + = 99